Six Greats to Enter Volleyball Hall of Fame

Volleyball Hall of Fame 2011 Inductee
Volleyball Hall of Fame 2011 Inductee

The Volleyball Hall of Fame, located in Holyoke, Mass., announced its class of 2011 inductees, which will be inducted during a ceremony on Oct. 28. The group consists of women’s indoor players Magaly Carvajal of Cuba and Rita Crocket of the United States, men’s indoor players Lorenzo Bernardi of Italy, Hugo Conte of Argentina and Vladimir Grbic of Serbia, and the late Dr. Frantisek Stibitz of the Czech Republic. The induction class is decided on through a vote of current Volleyball Hall of Fame inductees.

The Hall of Fame, incorporated in 1978 in the sport’s birthplace, continues to grow in prominence and exposure. FIVB President Jizhong Wei attended last year’s induction ceremony, which was video streamed for the first time to a world-wide audience.

For more information on the event and related festivities visit

Originally published in July 2011

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!