NCAA Women’s Volleyball Midseason Update

USC shocked VBM statsman Dennis Michael Stuart

This season of NCAA women’s volleyball has been an extremely unpredictable. I want to apologize to the USC volleyball program and head coach Mick Haley. I will be the first to admit that my preseason ranking of USC was completely wrong and embarrassing on my part. With that being said, I commend and congratulate the Women of Troy on what has been so far an amazing season and for proving me wrong. Arizona, Kansas, and San Diego are also having phenomenal seasons and were completely off my preseason radar.

Other programs rising above my preseason predictions include Western Kentucky, Southern Methodist, Creighton, Colorado State, Missouri, Minnesota, Hawaii, Ohio State, UCLA, Michigan, and Purdue.

Quite a few universities are performing below their preseason rankings given by myself and the AVCA Preseason Pool, including North Carolina, Wisconsin, Illinois, Iowa State, Michigan State, Oregon, Texas A&M, Oklahoma, Wichita State, and Alabama. My top two picks, Florida and Florida State, struggled once conference play started but seemed to have turned their seasons around. Midway through the season I would give my preseason rankings and predictions a B-.

Dennis’ 2015 Biggest Surprise: USC
Dennis’ 2015 Biggest Disappointment: Oklahoma

Here’s a reminder: 334 teams begin the season and only 64 make the tournament32 of which receive automatic bids by winning their conferences.

These are my mid-season selections for the 2015 NCAA Division I volleyball tournament. This is most likely the earliest prediction out there. Let’s see how I fare.

>> Compare Dennis’ rankings to the most recent AVCA Poll or the NCAA RPI rankings.

Top 16 Seeds
(Dennis Stuart’s preseason rank in parenthesis)

1. Washington (11)
2. Texas (6)
3. Nebraska (3)
4. Penn State (4)
5. Ohio State (9)
6. USC (63)
7. Minnesota (22)
8. Florida State (2)
9. Florida (1)
10. Hawaii (18)
11. UCLA (14)
12. Louisville (7)
13. Kansas (NR)
14. Purdue (13)
15. Brigham Young (17)
16. Colorado State (38)

(Dennis Stuart’s preseason rank in parenthesis)

Michigan (21)
Arizona State (8)
Arkansas State (NR)
Marquette (35)
Stanford (10)
Missouri (51)
Arizona (58)
Colorado (NR)
Western Kentucky (53)
Illinois (11)
Kentucky (23)
Ohio (NR)
Michigan State (30)
Wisconsin (24)
Long Beach State (28)
San Diego (NR)

(Dennis Stuart’s preseason rank in parenthesis)

Arkansas (NR)
Dayton (44)
Texas A&M (19)
Washington State (50)
North Carolina (26)
Creighton (55)
Pittsburgh (46)
Murray State (25)
Santa Clara (37)
Oklahoma (5)
Iowa State (32)
Northwestern (NR)
Southern Methodist (62)
Wyoming (60)
Oregon (16)
Wichita State (20)
Chattanooga (NR)
New Mexico State (NR)
Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (NR)
Maryland-Eastern Shore (NR)
Denver (45)
American (NR)
Coastal Carolina (NR)
New Hampshire (NR)
Cleveland State (NR)
Lipscomb (NR)
Dartmouth (NR)
Rider (NR)
Northern Arizona (NR)
James Madison (NR)
Bryant (NR)
Alabama State (NR)

8 Snubbed
(Dennis Stuart’s preseason rank in parenthesis)

Miami, FL (59)
Iowa (NR)
Mississippi (36)
Duke (29)
Idaho State (NR)
Loyola Marymount (59)
Pacific (64)

Conference Winner Predictions
(Thus getting automatic bid to tourney)

American Athletic Conference: Southern Methodist
America East Conference: New Hampshire
Atlantic 10 Conference: Dayton
Atlantic Coast Conference: Florida State
Atlantic Sun Conference: Lipscomb
Big East Conference: Creighton
Big Sky Conference: Northern Arizona
Big South Conference: Coastal Carolina
Big Ten Conference: Nebraska
Big Twelve Conference: Texas
Big West Conference: Hawaii
Colonial Athletic Association: James Madison
Conference USA: Western Kentucky
Horizon League: Cleveland State
Ivy League: Dartmouth
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference: Rider
Mid-American Conference: Ohio
Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference: Maryland-Eastern Shore
Missouri Valley Conference: Wichita State
Mountain West Conference: Colorado State
Northeast Conference: Bryant
Ohio Valley Conference: Murray State
Pacific 12 Conference: Washington
Patriot League: American
Southeastern Conference: Florida
Southern Conference: Chattanooga
Southland Conference: Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Southwestern Athletic Conference: Alabama State
The Summit League: Denver
Sun Belt Conference: Arkansas State
West Coast Conference: BYU
Western Athletic Conference: New Mexico State