After a tumultuous Friday, some order was restored Saturday at the AVP Seattle in Lake Sammamish, Wash., as the event heads into Sunday’s semifinals and finals. The finals will be shown on NBCSN (NBC Sports Network) at 1 p.m. Pacific.

Among the women, No. 1 Kim DiCello/Kendra VanZwieten, No. 2 Lane Carico/Summer Ross, No. 3 Angela Bensend/Geena Urango, and No. 5 Jennifer Fopma/Brittany Hochevar all advanced to the semis.

And for the men, No. 1 Jake Gibb/Casey Patterson, No. 2 Trevor/Taylor Crabb, No. 4 Billy Allen/Theo Brunner, and No. 15 Avery Drost/Gregg Weaver stayed alive.

Here are Sunday’s match-ups:

9:15 a.m.: Gibb/Patterson vs. Crabb/Crabb

9:20 a.m.: Allen/Brunner vs. Drost/Weaver

10:20 a.m.: DiCello/VanZwieten vs. Fopma/Hochevar

11:25 a.m.: Carico/Ross vs. Bensend/Urango

The semifinals will be streamed here:

1 p.m.: Men’s Final

2 p.m.: Women’s Final

Saturday, No. 4 Betsi Flint/Kelley Larsen,were sent home by Carico/Ross 21-17, 17-21, 15-11. Fopma/Hochevar took the hard way with contenders-bracket wins over No. 10 Christal Engle/Tealle Hunkus (19-21, 21-10, 15-11), No. 9 Sarah Day/Jessica Stubinski (14-21, 25-23, 15-8), and No. 7 Irene Hester-Pollock/Caitlin Ledoux (21-15, 21-15).

DiCello/VanZwieten edged No. 4 Flint/Larsen (21-18, 22-20). The other winners-bracket semifinal spot was taken by No. 3 Bensend/Urango, who squeaked by No. 7 Hester Pollock/Ledoux (13-21, 21-18, 15-13).

There were two minor upsets, when No. 11 McColloch/Reeves took down No. 8 Janelle Allen/Megan Wallin-Brockway 21-18, 21-15, and No. Sarah Day/Jessica Stubinski over No. 6 Whitney Pavlik/Sheila Shaw 14-21, 25-23, 15-8.

Men’s No. 3 Stafford Slick/Ty Tramblie were eliminated by Gibb/Patterson 21-23, 21-17, 15-7, after both had been victims of Friday upsets. It left Slick/Tramblie in a disappointing ninth place.

Despite being unceremoniously dropped into the first round losers bracket, Drost/Weaver put together a pair of wins over No. 8 Mark Burik/Curt Toppel (22-20, 19-21, 15-13) and No. 11 Jeremy Casebeer/Derek Olson (21-15, 21-18).

No. 13 Paul Araiza/Alejandro Parra upset No. 7 Tim/Brian Bomgren (21-19, 21-19), but were subsequently given a free volleyball lesson Gibb/Patterson (21-13, 21-9). Gibb/Patterson then avenged their Friday loss to No. 16 Kevin McColloch/Roberto Rodriguez-Bertran (21-14, 21-13).

In the winner’s bracket, Billy Allen/Theo Brunner earned a semifinal berth in a 21-15, 21-19 win over No. 16 Kevin McColloch/Roberto Rodriguez-Bertran. Trevor and Taylor Crabb claimed the other winner’s bracket semifinal spot in a 21-19, 21-19 win over No. 11 Casebeer/Olson.

All images courtesy AVP/Robert Beck


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here