Brazilians Pedro Solberg and Bruno Oscar Schmidt won gold in the men’s division over Latvians Aleksandrs Samoilovs and Janis Smedins in The Hague. The Brazilian team had played together in 2006 at the Junior World Championship, but only this year renewed their partnership. This is already their second medal of the 2013 season; they took their first (a silver) at the Shanghai Grand Slam.

Jake Gibb and Casey Patterson were again the American team to make it the farthest, but the champions Pedro and Bruno terminated their quest in the quarterfinals. Phil Dalhausser and Sean Rosenthal, coming back from their break in FIVB competition due to the birth of Dalhausser’s first child, were eliminated in the first round of tournament play in a close three-set match against a Swiss team. Todd Rogers and Ryan Doherty went 0-3 in pool play and didnt break.

1. Pedro Solberg & Bruno Oscar Schmidt, Brazil
2. Aleksandrs Samoilovs & Janis Smedins, Latvia
3. Grzegorz Fijalek & Mariusz Prudel, Poland


The Brazilian duo of Talita Da Rocha Antunes and Taiana de Souza Lima won their second gold medal of the season at The Hague Grand Slam, defeating their fellow Brazilians Maria Clara and Carolina Salgado in the final. This is the third FIVB gold medal for a Brazilian women’s team so far this season.

April Ross and Jen Kessy had a bit of a disappointing showing in the Netherlands with Brazilians Agatha Bednarczuk and Maria Antonelli knocking them out in the second round of single-elimination play. Lauren Fendrick and Brittany Hochevar were eliminated in the first round and Jennifer Fopma and Brooke Sweat did not break pool.

1. Talita Da Rocha Antunes & Taiana de Souza Lima, Brazil
2. Maria Clara & Carolina Salgado, Brazil
3. Katrin Holtwick & Ilka Semmler, Germany


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here